News Detail

Brophy College Prep Hosts the Robotics State Championship on Saturday

Brophy College Prep Robotics will host the Arizona FIRST® Tech Challenge hosted by The CocoNuts & Brophy High School BroncoBots! on Saturday, Feb. 17 in the Robson Gymnasium. The event starts at 8 a.m. with Opening Ceremonies featuring Phoenix Mayor Kate Gallego.

48 middle and high schools from across the state qualified to compete for three spots at the World Championships in Houston in April. 

In FIRST® Tech Challenge, small teams of students ages 12-18 design, build, code, and operate robots to compete in thrilling competitions. Guided by adult coaches and mentors, students develop STEM skills and practice engineering principles, while realizing the value of innovation and teamwork. 

Brophy Robotics was first started in 2002 and is under the direction of Andy Mazzolini, Kevin Elinski and Renee Ashlock. The school has a dedicated lab in the Innovation Commons that was dedicated in 2015. 

Fans are encouraged to bring non-perishable food items to benefit Brophy High School’s neighborhood food banks (St. Vincent de Paul or Desert Mission food banks).

Saturday, February 17, 2024
7:00 am Pits open, Inspection continues, practice fields open
**8:00 am Opening Ceremonies!**
8:30 am Qualification Matches begin
11:00 am Lunch
Noon Qualification matches resume
2:00 pm Alliance Selections
2:45 pm Division Playoff Matches
4:00 pm Championship Finals
4:45 pm Award ceremony
5:30 pm Event ends

Team 201 - Christian Anderson, Nathan Bae, Jack Balvan, Ash Panzarella, Ben Cherny, Davey Funkhouser, Vincent Laba, Anthony Morrison, Felix Sarreal.

Team 202 - Carlo Bernardez, Parker Cowles, Cole Drucker, Andrew Wei, Ian Koeninger, Martin Leyva Arredondo, Aiden Turico.

Team 203 - Gavin Carrasco, Jonathan Chavez, Parker Dietrich, Mathew Frazier-Ali, Deven Godha, Tristan Oudman, Mael Huarcaya, Andrew Lopez, Kyle Quintana, Nathan Villavicencio, Leo Zonn.

Advancement to the World Championship
The Arizona Championship will take place in Houston April 17-20, 2024. 3 teams from the Arizona Championship will advance to the World Championship! Those spots will go to the Inspire Award 1st and 2nd place winners and the Captain of the Championship winning alliance. To be on the Championship winning alliance, you must win your division first, then play a best-two-out-of-three match series with the winning alliance of the other division. Keep in mind that it’s only the Captain of the alliance that gets a guaranteed spot at the Championship when deciding your strategy for alliance selection.

List of 20 news stories.