News Detail

National Merit Semifinalists and Commended Students Announced

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced its semifinalists and commended students for 2024. Brophy congratulates the nine seniors who have been named National Merit Semifinalists and the 12 seniors who earned commended student designation.

Our semifinalists are Nathan Cai, Marcos Guillen, Doer He, Charles Judd, Shaan Keole, John McCarthy, Jacob Ng, Alec Oden and Ian O’Riley. These academically accomplished young men now have the opportunity to continue in the National Merit Scholarship program competition. The national pool of semifinalists, representing less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors, includes those students who scored highest on the PSAT/NMSQT® in each state. 

Brophy's commended students are Matthew DiCaudo, Xavier Estrada Lopez, Jack Gallagher, Nate George, Josh Hori, Max Jaros, Liam Lowry, Trey Markham, Dilan Movalia, James Phillips, Owen Wallace and Nick Zarillo. Commended students are recognized for their academic promise demonstrated by their outstanding performance on the PSAT/NMSQT® last year.