News Detail

Shores Named Coach of the Year, 3 Broncos Earn All-Arizona Selections

Brophy Head Coach Jon Shores was selected as the Coach of the Year and three Broncos were named to the All-Arizona team announced by the Arizona Republic.
Seniors Tyler Spielman and Charlie Palmer were selected for the second consecutive year, while junior Henry Dall was chosen for the first time.
Spielman was named the Premier Region Player of the Year after leading Brophy to the AIA Division I State Championship and winning individual medalist honors. He shot a state championship record 10-under par 60 in the first round and closed with a seven-under-par 63 to win the medalist honors. He is the fifth student-athlete from Brophy to win the individual state championship and the first since Ben Hayes in 1999.  
Shores directed Brophy to the ninth golf title in school history and the first since 2018. The Broncos captured their third title under Shores. The Broncos also set low single-round and tournament records. 
Palmer, who recently committed to Princeton, and Dall were first-team selections with Dall. Palmer finished second at the state championships, carding rounds of 65-67 to finish at 132. Dall was five strokes back in a tie for fourth after a 69 and two-day total of 137. 

They were among 12 golfers selected to the All-Arizona team. The 12 selections also are nominees for our Boys Golfer of the Year award, which will be announced after the school year as part of the Republic and Arizona High School Sports Awards event.

List of 20 news stories.