Sports Overview

Spielman, Shores Earn Premier Region Golf Honors 

Junior Tyler Spielman was named the Premier Region Player of the Year after leading Brophy to the AIA Division I State Championship and winning individual medalist honors. Head Coach Jon Shores was selected as the Coach of the Year. 

Spielman shot a state championship record 1
0-under par 60 in the first round and closed with a seven-under-par 63 to win the medalist honors. He is the fifth student-athlete from Brophy to win the individual state championship and the first since Ben Hayes in 1999.  

Shores directed Brophy to the ninth golf title in school history and the first since 2018. The Broncos captured their third title under Shores. Brophy now sits third all-time in state history with four schools with nine titles, behind only Thatcher and Arcadia (11). The Broncos also set low single-round and tournament records.
Senior Charlie Palmer and Trevor Karber were first-team selections with junior Henry Dall. Sophomore Dylan Boenning was named to the second team and senior Nico Nuez was an honorable mention selection. 
Palmer finished second at the state championships, carding rounds of 65-67 to finish at 132. Dall was five strokes back in a tie for fourth after a 69 and two-day total of 137. Karber was in the group tied at 137 after an even-par 70 .

2022 All Premier Boys Golf  
Coach of the Year: Jon Shores, Brophy  
Player of the Year: Tyler Spielman, Brophy  
First Team: Vincent Cervantes, Hamilton; Ryan Ito, Hamilton; Charlie Palmer, Brophy; Trevor Karber, Brophy; Henry Dall, Brophy  
Second Team: Wyatt Chapman, Hamilton; Dylan Boenning, Brophy; Austin Bullard, Casteel; Joe Houghton, Perry; Kyle Koski, Perry.