Golf Wins AIA Division I State Championship 

TUCSON, Ariz. – Behind a record-breaking performance, the Brophy College Preparatory golf team won the 2022 AIA Division I State Championship Thursday, Oct. 27, with a state record 529 two-day total. The Broncos posted 262-267 to defeat Hamilton by 34 strokes.  

“I am really proud of them,” said Head Coach Jon Shores. “As a coach, you want them to come out and play their best. They played their best for two days. It is hard to do with all five guys. It was special as a coach.” 

Junior Tyler Spielman, who shot a state championship record 10-under par 60 on Wednesday, closed with a seven-under-par 63 to win the medalist honors. He is the fifth student-athlete from Brophy to win the individual state championship and the first since Ben Hayes in 1999. 

“He is very precise in how he manages a golf course, hitting fairways and greens,” said Shores. “It is what he did, and he made a lot of putts. “He led the way for us. When he was playing as well as he was, it took the pressure off the rest of the guys.” 

It is the ninth golf title in school history and the first since 2018. The Broncos captured their third title under the direction of Head Coach Jon Shores. Brophy now sits third all-time in state history with four schools with nine titles, behind only Thatcher and Arcadia (11). 

The Broncos also set low single-round and tournament records, while Spielman’s tournament 60-63 for a 123 total is a state championship record as his 60 from the first round. Records are not available for rounds in relation to par.  

The Broncos also placed all five players in the Top 10. Senior Charlie Palmer shot a five-under par 65 to place second at 132. Junior Henry Dall was five strokes back in a tie for fourth after a 69 and two-day total of 137. Senior Trevor Karber was in the group tied at 137 after an even par 70. Sophomore Dylan Boenning had 70 and finished at one-under par 139. 

All-Time State Championships 
9 - Brophy Prep: 1985 (5A), 1988 (5A), 1989 (5A), 1993 (5A), 1994 (5A), 1999 (5A), 2011 (Div. I), 2018 (Div. I), 2022 (Div. 1). 

All-Time Brophy Golf State Champions 
1973-74 AAA Chip Larson Brophy Prep 143 (67-76) Antelope Hills (Prescott) 
1985-86 5A Steve Haynes Brophy Prep 145 (73-72) Arizona Biltmore (Phoenix) 
1991-92 5A Ted Purdy Brophy Prep 134 (68-66) Karsten (Tempe) 
1999-00 5A Ben Hayes Brophy Prep 137 (67-70) Hillcrest (Sun City West) 
2021-22 Div. 1 Tyler Spielman Brophy Prep 123 (60-63) Omni National (Tucson)