AIA Announces Awards, Coaches of the Year as Fall Sports Season Wraps

A look back at our fall AIA sports with recognition of individual achievement and coaching awards…. 

Teams returned to the fields, pools and courses after a 2020 season that was like no other. The Broncos played only eight varsity football games last fall and the swim team pulled out of the 2020 state meet because of safety concerns linked to the pandemic. Overall, the 2021 season was something of a comeback year for everyone.

This year, Brophy Football played an entire schedule making it to the 6A playoff quarterfinals with a final record of 12 wins and seven losses. The Broncos beat the Desert Mountain Jaguars 22-9 in the first round of the playoffs, then fell to the Red Mountain Lions in a hard-fought 13-14 game. The Broncos won the AIA 6A Conference Sportsmanship Award (an award determined by game officials) and Coach Jason Jewell was named Desert Valley Region Coach of the Year. 

Notably, it was also the first year of playing at Ray Laing Field at Central High School which allowed for tailgating at Brophy pre-game with a walk across the canal for Bronco football.


Desert Valley Region Coach of the Year – Jason Jewell

First Team
Billy Eastep ‘24
Taj Hughes ‘22
Marcus Lye ‘22
Josh Minton ‘22
Ben Morrison ‘22
Tyler Powell ‘22
Mardale Rowe ‘24
E.J. Warner ‘22

Second Team
Matt Diaz ‘22
Roger Miranda-Mora ‘22
David Sweetman ‘23
Max Ware ‘22

Honorable Mention
Carlos Dominguez ‘22
Layton Duncan ‘23
David Lopez ‘23
Sergio Lopez-Perez ‘22
Trey Markham ‘24
Luke Ulrich ‘22
Sam Williams ‘23

Brophy Swim and Dive was back in the mix this year at state. Until they missed the 2020 competition, the Broncos hadn’t lost a state title meet since 1987, racking up 32 consecutive wins and 42 in program history. The Broncos had a solid season but after the final lap of the 2021 state meet was over, they were third on the podium, 17 points out of first place which went to Desert Vista. Coach Daren Brubaker was named Premier Region Coach of the Year.


Premier Region Coach of the Year – Daren Brubaker

First Team
200-medley relay – Deaglan Ramme ‘22, Finn Crawford ‘23, David Serrano ‘22, Jack Sorenson ‘22
200 freestyle – Jack Sorenson
100 butterfly – Gabe Gonda ‘23
500 freestyle – Thomas Joswiak ‘22
200-freestyle relay – Gabe Gonda, Deaglan Ramme, Thomas Joswiak, Justin Krueger ‘22
400-freestyle relay – Finn Crawford, Thomas Joswiak, Gabe Gonda, Jack Sorenson
Diver – Gage DuBois ‘22

Second Team
200 freestyle – Thomas Joswiak
200 individual medley – Gabe Gonda
100 freestyle – Bryce Fitzgerald ‘22
500 freestyle – Finn Crawford
100 backstroke – Jack Sorenson

Brophy Golf opened the season with a record-breaking win at their two-day home invitational, coming out on top of second-place finisher Chandler Hamilton by 22 strokes. The Broncos followed that with a win at the Ping-sponsored inaugural Bronco Rodeo meet in Litchfield Park and placed sixth in a national field at the competitive Honda Classic in Florida. Ultimately, the Broncos went into the state meet undefeated but their final score of 8-under-par was second to Chandler Hamilton’s 35-under score. Three players finished in the top 10 — Charlie Palmer ’23 (fifth), George Rubelsky ‘22 (sixth) and Jack Dozer ’22 (seventh). Coach Jon Shores was named the 2020-21 NFHS Arizona Boys Golf Coach of the Year.


NFHS Arizona Boys Golf Coach of the Year – Jon Shores

First Team
Charlie Palmer ‘23
Tyler Spielman ‘24

Second Team
Brayden Bozak ‘22
Jack Dozer ‘22
George Rubelsky ‘22

Brophy Cross Country went into the state meet with a string of victories including capturing their fifth consecutive sectional championship in a competitive field where they had been projected to finish third. Up against the powerhouses of cross country at the state meet, the Broncos ended their 2021 season in fifth place. Brody Haar ’22 became the seventh Bronco since 2015 to finish First Team Division I and Coach Oscar Borboa was named Premier Region Coach of the Year. 


Premier Region Coach of the Year – Oscar Borboa
Runner of the Year – Brody Haar ‘22

First Team
Zach Loiselle ‘23

Second Team
Kaden Stillwagon ‘22
Daniel Chavez ‘22
Anderson Baker ‘22

Brophy congratulates all of our student-athletes who model dedication, determination and leadership on and off the field. AMDG